G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Moderators: Kai, Rick, Lance Murray, Mr. Gadget

Post Reply
User avatar
tlee
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:49 pm
First Name: Ted
Aircraft Type: DA42
Aircraft Registration: CGRAD
Airports: CNY3

G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by tlee »

Hi - Newby from an upstart flight college in Canada. Have 3 Trainers, version 8.01 (DA40), version 9.05 (DA42) and version 11.12 (DA42). Database for instrument approach procedures (IAPs) appears to be a worldwide.bin file for the first two and db for the last appears to be a avtn_db.bin file. Went out to one of our 40s and got the SD card with an up to date avtndb.bin file and put it into the appropriate folder for the Trainer. No joy, nothing changed. Do I conclude the avtn_db.bin file is not responsible for IAPs? Where else might the appropriate file be? Help plse...
User avatar
Keith M
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:54 am
First Name: Keith
Aircraft Type: DA40D
Airports: EGNH
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by Keith M »

I use this batch file:

Code: Select all

REM Save this file on your hard drive as UPDATEDB.BAT
REM To run it, find it in Windows Explorer, right click it
REM and choose Run as Administrator.
REM
REM Change the following two lines to match your system:
SET SDCARD=D:
SET G1000SIMDB="C:\Program Files (x86)\Diamond DA40 Trainer v9.13\worldwide.bin"
REM
XCOPY %SDCARD%\ldr_sys\avtn_db.bin %TEMP% /H
ATTRIB -h -s %TEMP%\avtn_db.bin
MOVE /Y %TEMP%\avtn_db.bin %G1000SIMDB%
PAUSE
Hope it helps.
User avatar
curts63
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:49 pm
First Name: Curt
Aircraft Type: OTHER
Aircraft Registration: N215CS
Airports: 22N
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by curts63 »

Ok, I need help with this one. I have a DA40 and my Trainer software is 9.13 How do I update from my current SD cards to the trainer? I see the "batch" file from above, but in simpler terms, how is it done? Will someone help me with a step by step to import the current data to the older simulator?

Thank you,
Curt
User avatar
Keith M
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:54 am
First Name: Keith
Aircraft Type: DA40D
Airports: EGNH
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by Keith M »

Curt, assuming you have a PC running Windows, insert your SD card with the current aviation database into its USB port, and check that the drive letter assigned to it by File Explorer matches the line starting "SET SDCARD=" in the batch file. Then run that batch file as Administrator. It will copy a hidden file called avtn_db.bin to your DA40 trainer installation folder, changing its name to worldwide.bin as it does so. That's the file from which the trainer loads its aviation database.

I hope this helps,
Keith
User avatar
curts63
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:49 pm
First Name: Curt
Aircraft Type: OTHER
Aircraft Registration: N215CS
Airports: 22N
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by curts63 »

Keith, I'm glad that you are helping. Let's take this back a step or two. I do have Windows 10, but I need the full list of instructions to get this accomplished. I don't know a batch file from a batch of cookies. If you could walk me through a few more steps, that would be great. I can find the files on the SD card and I can locate the Diamond Trainer files. Where do I look for or input the rest to copy the files from the SD to the Trainer files?

Sorry, I know this is easy for many, but I'm inexperienced. Give me a hammer and duct tape, I can fix anything mechanically.

Curt
User avatar
Keith M
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:54 am
First Name: Keith
Aircraft Type: DA40D
Airports: EGNH
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by Keith M »

The only piece of the jigsaw which is missing is how to create the batch file:
  1. Select all the batch file lines from my comment above;
  2. Copy them to the clipboard by holding the Ctrl key down, then clicking the C key (Ctrl+C from herein);
  3. Hold the Windows key down and click R;
  4. Type "notepad", and click OK;
  5. Paste the contents of the clipboard into the Notepad window using Ctrl+V;
  6. If necessary, edit the two lines which assign values to SDCARD and G1000SIMDB;
  7. Save to a file using Ctrl+S and typing "updatedb.bat" into the Save As dialog box;
  8. Click the Start button and then the File Explorer icon (third up from bottom left);
  9. From the list in the left pane, click on Documents;
  10. In the right pane, look for updatedb.bat;
  11. Right click it, and choose Run as Administrator.
I've been working with computers for 45 years, so may be incapable of understanding the difficultes a newbie might have, but I hope someone else will step in if I've still left you mystified! :)
User avatar
curts63
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:49 pm
First Name: Curt
Aircraft Type: OTHER
Aircraft Registration: N215CS
Airports: 22N
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: G1000 Trainer IAP database update

Post by curts63 »

Keith,
That was perfect! Thank you for the easy to follow directions.

Curt
Post Reply