Compression test low. So what?

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Hetch

Compression test low. So what?

Post by Hetch »

Hi,

I am in the market for a used DA40 and have found one that meets 90% of my criteria. Sadly the compression ratios aren't close to 80. I am no expert in aircraft engines but wanted 74 70 72 66.

The plane is a 2006 and is in the low 1000 hours. Thoughts?
carym
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: cary
Aircraft Type: DA42
Aircraft Registration: N336TS
Airports: KTYQ

Re: Compression test low. So what?

Post by carym »

It may mean that it needs a top end, but it may also be OK. I would take the plane out for 15 min or so to make sure everything is warmed up and running well, then re-test the compressions immediately. If still low (especially the 66) it will need some cylinder work.
Cary
DA42.AC036 (returned)
S35 (1964 V-tail Bonanza)
Alaska adventure: http://mariashflying.tumblr.com
Hetch

Post by Hetch »

Thanks Cary! Your answer begets another question :D. About how much would that work cost?

Thanks!
carym
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: cary
Aircraft Type: DA42
Aircraft Registration: N336TS
Airports: KTYQ

Post by carym »

When I owned a C310 with O470 engines I was changing 1-2 cylinders at each annual :( It cost about $1000 per cylinder, and that was 10-15 years ago. I wouldn't be surprised if it were to cost $1500 now. There are always surprises at annual with ownership :(
Cary
DA42.AC036 (returned)
S35 (1964 V-tail Bonanza)
Alaska adventure: http://mariashflying.tumblr.com
rwtucker
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rob
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N831BA
Airports: KFFZ KEUL

Post by rwtucker »