DA40NG

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Boatguy54

DA40NG

Post by Boatguy54 »

I'm a student pilot expecting to earn a PPL in July; total newbie.

Without going into any background, I am not fond of the 1940's engine management I see in trainer aircraft in 2018. A glass cockpit mounted behind an engine that looks a lot like a less refined version of my 1960 Porsche does not instill confidence. Just this morning we canceled a training flight when one such engine could not smoothly increase its RPM. I also have extensive experience (5,000+ hours) with both marine and automative diesel engines which I've found to be extremely reliable. Given air and anything approximating clean fuel, they just don't stop. Hence my interest in the 40NG.

At the same time I've read some pretty sharp attacks on the DA40NG, in these forums, and elsewhere. In this forum there should be some 40NG owners, and some 40XLT owners that wouldn't go near a 40NG. I'd like to ask for some perspectives, ideally fact based, on the virtues and faults of the 40NG with respect to the power plant. The canopy and many other aspects of the aircraft are shared between the two variants and a separate discussion.

Thank you for your time and consideration.
Colin
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Colin
Aircraft Type: DA42
Aircraft Registration: N972RD
Airports: KFHR

Re: DA40NG

Post by Colin »

Boatguy54, where are you located?

I have a DA42 and one of the driving factors behind the decision to move up from the DA40 was the engine technology.
Colin Summers, PP Multi-Engine IFR, ~3,000hrs
colin@mightycheese.com * send email rather than PM
http://www.flyingsummers.com
N972RD DA42 G1000 2.0 s/n 42.AC100 (sold!)
N971RD DA40 G1000 s/n 40.508 (traded)
avalys
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
First Name: Alex
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N326AF (RENTAL)
Airports: KCOS

Post by avalys »