G1000 WAAS upgrade

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
Tim H
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Tim
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N233MA
Airport: KMGY

Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:44 pm
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by Tim H » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:51 pm

Does this mean (hypothetically) the next failure of a GIA63W will result in a permanent grounding of the airplane due to lack of spare parts?
User avatar
pietromarx
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: NZZZ
Airport: KWHP

Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:52 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by pietromarx » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:16 am

Tim H wrote:Does this mean (hypothetically) the next failure of a GIA63W will result in a permanent grounding of the airplane due to lack of spare parts?
Ouch. I mean ouch!!

I don't know the price tags on GIA-64s / 63s, but I remember being in shock after upgrading my last DA-40.
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 421 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by CFIDave » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:59 pm

Tim H wrote:Does this mean (hypothetically) the next failure of a GIA63W will result in a permanent grounding of the airplane due to lack of spare parts?
I'm pretty sure that you'll be able to get one repaired by Garmin. To reduce repair time, G1000 LRUs are usually swapped: your faulty unit gets shipped to Garmin while they send out a replacement unit that was originally installed in some other aircraft (not necessarily a Diamond). Re-installation of Diamond-specific G1000 software will then cause the replacement LRU to operate the same as your original unit.
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
TimS
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Timothy
Aircraft: OTHER
Registration: N1446C
Airport: 6B6 Stowe MA

Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:10 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by TimS » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:20 pm

Tim H wrote:Does this mean (hypothetically) the next failure of a GIA63W will result in a permanent grounding of the airplane due to lack of spare parts?
When I contacted Garmin about the issue. They were specific that they still repair units. They no longer sell parts/kits for upgrades.
Garmin did imply that there will come a point where they can no longer repair non WAAS systems, but that time has not yet come. Like the upgrade path, it will likely be announced to the OEMS some period before it happens. (Which makes sense, when you think of a their ability to get parts.)

Basically, the repair route will eventually become upgrading the G1000 to G1000 nXI when you want too, or when something breaks.

Tim
User avatar
Sandy
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Sanford
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N159PS
Airport: KPDK

Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by Sandy » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:23 am

Does anyone know whether there is even an upgrade path from the G1000 to the NXi? Will another STC and different software be required? For that matter, are new DA40 XLTs being built? If so, what units are going into them? Are there both GIA64's and GIA64W's, or do all GIA64's include WAAS? If I'm correct that new planes are being delivered with NXi's and GIA63W's until Diamond runs out, but that they can also use the GIA64's (with WAAS), does that mean that there are multiple software versions being used to support both GIA types?
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 421 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by CFIDave » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:07 pm

Partial answers to your questions:

Right now, the Lycoming DA40 XLT is temporarily out of production, awaiting certification of G1000 NXi for that aircraft. (Austro DA40 NGs are certified for NXi, and are being built as fast as London can make them.)

As for upgrading a legacy G1000 to G1000 NXi on a DA40, there is no news yet on that issue. However it's already possible to upgrade DA42 NG/-VI and DA62 legacy G1000s to NXi.

And I'm pretty certain that all GIA64's are "W" models with WAAS, since there's no demand for non-WAAS units.
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
BRS
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Brock
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N8QQ
Airport: W52

Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:44 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by BRS » Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:31 am

Lately, I've been hoping that Dynon would make an STC for the DA40 like the did the C172. Then I could remove the G1000 in it's entirety and sell it on the used market. Install a Skyview system and have all the bells and whistles that my non-WAAS 2006 DA40 lacks. Probably come out ahead and save 10 lbs to boot.

I've been flying an AFS-5600 (owned by Dynon) equipped Glasair Sportsman for the past two years. I like it much more than the G1000 in my DA40.
40.649
(M20, PF, Hartzell Metal, GAMI, SuperCharged)
http://www.servantwings.org
User avatar
Sandy
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Sanford
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N159PS
Airport: KPDK

Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by Sandy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:00 pm

Does anyone know why the new GIA64 was not made to be downward compatible with existing G1000 units?

Sandy
User avatar
pietromarx
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: NZZZ
Airport: KWHP

Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:52 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by pietromarx » Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:53 pm

Sandy wrote:Does anyone know why the new GIA64 was not made to be downward compatible with existing G1000 units?
It is likely to be both and protocol compatible with the existing units. That said, Garmin may not taken it through a certification process for use with older software. Given that they're repairing older units and that the newer NXi displays are compatible with the older GIA-63/W units, there wouldn't be much point. There was a decade window to upgrade the GIA-63s to GIA-63Ws and I doubt that the corp strat folks at Garmin would be able to make a different economic decision.
User avatar
Sandy
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Sanford
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N159PS
Airport: KPDK

Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: G1000 WAAS upgrade

Post by Sandy » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:03 am

pettromarx wrote,
There was a decade window to upgrade the GIA-63s to GIA-63Ws
That was all well and good for those who knew, in advance, that there was a "window" and that it would be closing. I did not know anything about that until the window closed before I knew there was one.

Sandy
Post Reply