DA40NG fuel pumps

Open for questions of visitors of DAN. Posts of our guests are on moderation queue.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Livmilhon

DA40NG fuel pumps

Post by Livmilhon »

Hello all!
I am a commercial student flying the DA40NG. I am studying for my commercial oral and can’t get anyone to agree on how many fuel pumps the 40NG has or how to interpret that section of the AFM.
Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Dave
Aircraft Type: OTHER
Aircraft Registration: N333GX
Airports: KJYO Leesburg VA

Re: DA40NG fuel pumps

Post by CFIDave »

The DA40NG has a single mechanically-driven high-pressure fuel pump on its Austro engine -- used to pressurize the common rail that feeds fuel to the injectors. The pilot has no control of this pump, which operates whenever the engine is running.

It also has a PAIR of electrically-driven fuel pumps -- one associated with ECU A, and another associated with ECU B -- that are used to transfer fuel from the wing tanks to the engine. When ECU A is in control of the engine, its pump is ON (the other is OFF). Similarly when ECU B is in control of the engine its pump is ON (and the other is off). Since ECU A and B are in control on alternate flights, this equalizes wear across both electric fuel pumps.

During takeoff and landing, the pilot turns the panel-mounted fuel pump switch ON -- which causes BOTH the ECU A and ECU B-controlled pumps to turn on and operate simultaneously in parallel. That way if either pump fails, fuel delivery from the wing tanks to the engine will continue.

Diamond DA42/DA62 twins with Austro engines have 2X everything described above. (DA42 TDI and DA40D aircraft with Thielert/Continental engines lack panel-mounted fuel pump switches.)
Epic Aircraft E1000 GX
Former DA40XLS, DA42-VI, and DA62 owner
ATP, CFI, CFI-I, MEI
Boatguy
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Russ
Aircraft Type: DA62
Aircraft Registration: N962M
Airports: KSTS