2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
First Name: Patrick
Aircraft Type: DA40D
Aircraft Registration: GLWLW
Airports: BREIGHTON YORKSHIRE

Low Voltage Warning

Post by Mpatrickw »

Has anyone seen this alert on a diesel DA40? I have been battling with solving this problem for two months now. Under full electrical load, at any rpm, a low voltage alert is triggered for a second or so, on the annunciator display of my DA40, with the switching on of an additional load like transmitting or switching on fuel transfer pump. New Centurion 2.0s and alternator were fitted 300hrs ago. All batteries good following recent annual. We thought we’d solved it by replacing the main relay – all fine for 8 hrs IFR with pitot heat on then the problem returned intermittently. The problem only appears when close to all equipment on, inc pitot heat. Without pitot heat the load isn’t great enough to be triggered by anything else. We’ve ruled out the pitot heat and it’s been checked twice for operation and any likely short to earth. Total system load is less than 50% on the engine display ammeter.

I would greatly appreciate the advice of anyone with aircraft electrics experience. I and my engineers are running out of ideas. I’m also close to IR test so this is double trouble as any examiner won’t be happy to fly with the problem. My aircraft is therefore effectively AOG for IFR. The details of voltage measurements I’ve taken are:

Alternator output measured at alternator: power Idle + avionics on - high 14.5, low 13.5. 1400rpm + avionics only 14.5 – 13.8. 1400rpm full load inc pitot heat 14.8 – 13.6. 1900rpm full load inc pitot heat 14.7 – 13.3.
Voltage at on-board volt meter (i.e. post voltage regulator) Engine off 12.1v. Engine Idle high 14.5 low 14.0. 1900 rpm full load inc pitot heat 14.7 – 12.9.