1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
First Name: Nik
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N294DS
Airports:

Newbie question - high density altitude takeoff performance

Post by nikprak »

Hi, I'm a newbie to Diamonds. I plan to get checked out in a 2008 DA40 XLS soon, and was studying the official POH, which from what I have been told, is conservatively generic in terms of the performance charts? I was hoping someone could chime in regarding realistic takeoff climb performance in the following configuration:

2008 DA40 XLS with PF exhaust, two-blade metal Hartzell, 50g tanks.
Density Altitude: 9500 ft
Runway: 8000feet
MTOW
Mixture leaned to to 75F ROP (prior to takeoff roll, at WOT)
Prop at max throughout takeoff climb.
Assume calm winds, and flat surrounding terrain.

Would the above be skirting the boundaries of a safe departure? What would the initial climb rates be like?

Thanks, Nik
smoss
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Steve
Airports: KVGT

Re: Newbie question - high density altitude takeoff performance

Post by smoss »