Screws for Ram Mount

Any DA40 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
behles
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: markus
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N280DS
Airport: EDRZ

Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:40 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Screws for Ram Mount

Post by behles »

Are these metric screws ?
Does anyone knows the size ?

I would like to attach a ram mount.

IMG_0764.jpeg

thanks
Markus
User avatar
Lou
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Louis
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: CGXLO
Airport: CZVL

Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:39 pm
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by Lou »

On mine they were standard 4-40 screws. I bolted two 1/4” x 1/2” aluminum bars onto the the panel using longer 4-40s, then I tapped the bars to take a Ram ball mount. Works really well.

Just noticed you are in Europe. Mine was built in Canada. 4-40 is an imperial size, not a metric size.
User avatar
behles
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: markus
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N280DS
Airport: EDRZ

Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:40 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by behles »

N280DS (40.955) was also build in Canda.
It has a mix of imperial and metric screws.
User avatar
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Rich
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N40XE
Airport: S39

Posts: 3238
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 616 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by Rich »

behles wrote:
Mon Jun 14, 2021 8:34 am
N280DS (40.955) was also build in Canda.
It has a mix of imperial and metric screws.
Generally the instrument panel screws all seem to be US SAE. Same with most of the engine compartment and most of the wheel/brake parts.

The wholly obsolete term "Imperial" does remind me of a time in my flying career when the Bonanza I was flying was refueled at Campbell River, BC, measured in Imperial Gallons. :scratch:
2002 DA40: MT, PowerFlow, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210, Orion 600 LED, XeVision, Aspen E5
User avatar
midlifeflyer
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mark
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N226PA
Airport: KTTA

Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by midlifeflyer »

Bring one of the screws to a Lowe's, Home Depot, or other hardware store which has templates for measuring.
User avatar
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Rich
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N40XE
Airport: S39

Posts: 3238
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 616 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by Rich »

The most likely RAM Ball mount will likely cover a portion of the essential bus placard. You'll need to replace that somehow.
2002 DA40: MT, PowerFlow, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210, Orion 600 LED, XeVision, Aspen E5
User avatar
Lou
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Louis
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: CGXLO
Airport: CZVL

Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:39 pm
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by Lou »

Rich wrote:
Mon Jun 14, 2021 1:44 pm
behles wrote:
Mon Jun 14, 2021 8:34 am
N280DS (40.955) was also build in Canda.
It has a mix of imperial and metric screws.
…The wholly obsolete term "Imperial" does remind me of a time in my flying career when the Bonanza I was flying was refueled at Campbell River, BC, measured in Imperial Gallons. :scratch:
:D “Imperial” means UK standard measures, and to my knowledge the term is still very much the Queen’s English.
User avatar
dmloftus
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: David
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N868US
Airport: KLZU

Posts: 93
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by dmloftus »

behles wrote:
Mon May 31, 2021 6:12 am
Are these metric screws ?
Does anyone knows the size ?

I would like to attach a ram mount.


IMG_0764.jpeg


thanks
Markus
Hi Markus,
Did you attach the RAM mount with these screws? Anybody else try this? What type of load are you hanging from it, iPhone.iPad, cockpit camera? I love the idea but these screws seem somewhat weak to do this, especially if you hang something like an iPad. I have the extra RAM ball sitting around but I would hate to break off the screw head and have to drill and retap the hole. I'm really interested in your results. Thanks
User avatar
Lou
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Louis
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: CGXLO
Airport: CZVL

Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:39 pm
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by Lou »

Photos of my mount. I have used it for years without an issue. Hope this helps.
Attachments
iPad mount - 3.jpeg
iPad mount - 2.jpeg
iPad mount - 1.jpeg
User avatar
behles
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: markus
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N280DS
Airport: EDRZ

Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:40 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Screws for Ram Mount

Post by behles »

Photos of my mount. Sorry for the delay.
IMG_0962.jpeg
IMG_0963.jpeg
I'm not sure how durable the solution is.

Markus
Post Reply