DA42 log files

Any DA42 related topics.

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Post Reply
justinbeitler
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
FIRST NAME: Justin
Aircraft: DA42
Registration: N231AE
Airport: KSMO

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:08 pm

DA42 log files

Post by justinbeitler » Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:06 pm

All,
Reaching out to see if anyone can share their MFD log files from DA42 aircraft?

I recently took over the website CirrusReports.com. Working on adding new features for Diamond Aircraft. I've already updated the system to display DA-42 information but would like additional log files for testing (as we added the new features using a very small number of sample files). Please feel free to contact me directly at atc@flightdata.com

Thanks in advance for the help!


-Justin
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 398 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by CFIDave » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:19 pm

See my response in the DA62 thread where you also posted.

I logged into your site and converted 397 DA42-VI files I had uploaded previously using "Citation Mustang" and changed today to "DA42" and they appear to work properly. So now you've got a large sample size. :)
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
FlyingShrink
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Veerindar
Aircraft: DA42
Registration: N93YT
Airport: KRDU

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:38 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by FlyingShrink » Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:16 pm

Hi all,

How do you download the MFD log files ? Thanks in advance.

Veeru
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 398 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by CFIDave » Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:34 pm

FlyingShrink wrote:
Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:16 pm
Hi all,

How do you download the MFD log files ? Thanks in advance.

Veeru
If you're asking how to obtain MFD log files from the G1000, all you have to do is insert a blank SD card into the MFD upper slot. The G1000 will then create and record a log file for each flight. Remove the SD card and insert into your computer to *upload* one or more of these log files to CirrusReports.com or other website to view your flight info.

Important note: I recall that the G1000 logging function only works on 2007+ DA40s (Lycoming and Austro), DA42NGs (-VIs), and DA62s, i.e., those aircraft with GFC700 autopilots.
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
Rick
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Rick
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N171PS
Airport: KROA

Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:09 pm
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by Rick » Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:57 am

CFIDave wrote:
Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:34 pm
Important note: I recall that the G1000 logging function only works on 2007+ DA40s (Lycoming and Austro), DA42NGs (-VIs), and DA62s, i.e., those aircraft with GFC700 autopilots.
Dave, logging worked in both my 2004 and 2005 DA40's (both with KAP140's) - maybe a function of s/w version instead of model year? However, it looks like Veerindar has a DA42 - it seems like the logging was less available in the 42's for a longer time, so he may or may not have the logging feature. I guess no harm in plugging in the SD card and seeing if anything shows up!

By the way, the card must be in place when the G1000 power is first turned on, or you get nothing for sure. You can't turn on the power and then plug in the SD card - the G1000 only checks for the card when it starts up.
2007 DA40 XL - Roanoke, VA (KROA)
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 398 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by CFIDave » Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:14 am

Rick wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:57 am
Dave, logging worked in both my 2004 and 2005 DA40's (both with KAP140's) - maybe a function of s/w version instead of model year? However, it looks like Veerindar has a DA42 - it seems like the logging was less available in the 42's for a longer time, so he may or may not have the logging feature. I guess no harm in plugging in the SD card and seeing if anything shows up!
It's been awhile since I tried the logging function in a KAP-140 DA40; they *used* to not support logging but as you point out, it's really a function of the G1000 software version rather than model year. I'm glad to hear that logging works with KAP-140 planes.
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
FlyingShrink
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Veerindar
Aircraft: DA42
Registration: N93YT
Airport: KRDU

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:38 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by FlyingShrink » Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:51 pm

Thanks for all the responses. Yes, I have a 2007 DA42 with KAP 140 autopilot. I will try to upload the files as instructed and will post my findings. It is now out for the annual inspection. I am swapping the memory cards also to upgrade.
I have a feeling that it will work since the log files are a function of the G1000 and not a KAP 140 feature.

Happy Flying,

Veeru
User avatar
ememic99
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Emir
Aircraft: DA42
Registration: SEMAD
Airport: LDZA LDVA

Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:31 am
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: DA42 log files

Post by ememic99 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:29 pm

No, logging doesn't work on 2007 DA42. As everyone who read this thread viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6643 and joined this petition https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... edit#gid=0 knows, we lack a fair bit of new features because of being stuck with old version of G1000 and we're trying to convince Diamond to propose some solutions for upgrade.
Post Reply