Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Any DA20 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
DiamondFlyer88
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Alex
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: N373AM
Airport: KSEE

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:03 am

Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby DiamondFlyer88 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:10 am

Hi guys! This is my first post but I've been reading up on your posts a lot!

I have a pair of diamond da20-c1's that are getting upgraded to the new Garmin G5 units for a entry level glass system. I have contacted my local diamond maintenance shop but they are having a hard time giving me a quote for the install because they don't know how to install the magnetometer for the HSI. Has anyone here gone through this? Any help is much appreciated as I have the units in hand but can't install :scream: :thumbsd:

Thanks guys!
User avatar
Pascal
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Pascal
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: CGSMT
Airport: CYJN

Posts: 80
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:35 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby Pascal » Sat Dec 09, 2017 3:30 pm

I will be watching this thread as I'm also thinking about installing two G5s next year in my DA20-C1. I'm also interested in affordable ADS-B out solutions.
User avatar
DiamondFlyer88
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Alex
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: N373AM
Airport: KSEE

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby DiamondFlyer88 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:02 pm

Has anyone been quoted on a G5 installation? There is a shop quoting me between 30-60 hours for installing dual G5 units plus removing the vacuum system and installing the magnetometer. To me this seems outrages.. Whats your take on it? Thanks!
User avatar
CFIDave
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Dave
Aircraft: DA62
Registration: N62DV
Airport: KJYO

Posts: 1361
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:40 pm
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 245 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby CFIDave » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:07 am

30-60 hours sounds reasonable to me. Removing the vacuum system, rewiring much of the panel (I assume one of the G5s will be used as an HSI for flying approaches driven by a G430?), and adding a magnetometer out on the wing is quite a bit of work. You're basically converting from steam to a glass panel.
N62DV DA62 62.056
N42DA DA42-VI 42.N117 (sold)
N811ET DA40 XLS 40.874 (sold)
KJYO Leesburg, Virginia
User avatar
DiamondFlyer88
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Alex
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: N373AM
Airport: KSEE

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby DiamondFlyer88 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:46 pm

Yeah thats quite a bit of work, I see it more on the 30 than 60 hours though. Thanks for the input, I appreciate it.
User avatar
Lance Murray
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Lance
Aircraft: DA40

Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby Lance Murray » Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:56 pm

On the Diamond DA40 with KCS55a HSI system the magnetometer is installed in the wing attached to an inspection panel. Possibly the DA20 has a place for the same?
User avatar
JohnE
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: John
Aircraft: DA20-AI
Airport: KENW

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby JohnE » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:40 pm

Curious if you made any progress on the magnetometer install location. I'm going to purchase G5's also.

thanks. John
User avatar
DiamondFlyer88
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Alex
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: N373AM
Airport: KSEE

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby DiamondFlyer88 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:33 am

Hey John,

I did! I will test fly it tomorrow. Magnetometer was installed in the tail cone behind the inspection panel in the baggage compartment. It passed the calibration test. You could mount it near the wing tip as well but you'd need to switch to LED strobes $$$$.

Here is a shot of what it looks like in the cockpit. Not of the magnetometer.

I went with dual G5 with the flush mount.
Attachments
IMG_8537.JPG
User avatar
JohnE
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: John
Aircraft: DA20-AI
Airport: KENW

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:07 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby JohnE » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:42 pm

Sweet. Thanks for the update and info. Do you know if they had to remove the fuel tank to do it? I'm still waiting to receive my gps unit to arrive so still have some time. I would think the wing tip option would be way too much work.

What is the flush mount option btw?
User avatar
Pascal
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Pascal
Aircraft: DA20-C1
Registration: CGSMT
Airport: CYJN

Posts: 80
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:35 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dual Garmin G5 install Questions

Postby Pascal » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:29 pm

Nice! My eyesight is not as good as it used to be. Once you will have tested your new installation, could you please comment on the size and readability of the G5s?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests