1 Diamond Member
First Name: Timo
Aircraft Type: DA40D
Aircraft Registration: DEWAQ
Airports: EDKA

Autopilot NAV Mode Kap140

Post by timonick »

Good evening.

I'm new in this Forum and I have a Question for the AP of my DA40. Sometimes I fly longer Ways (2h+) at the moment I fly this Way over HDG what is really stressful because if I get pushed away because of wind or something I need to correct the HDG by a few Degrees all time. The Problem is I have the Kap140 AP and the Garmin GNS430 and when I fly over Dct to an Airport and Press NAV my Course isn't right. He drifts really hard to an other Course. When my Airport is on South/East the Plane isn't fly the Way, it's flying North/East. On The Message in the Garmin there is a Msg (Set Course to 180 e.g. When I press NAV when I'm on the Line he's Turning Right on another Course. I'm a new Pilot, I have my License 6 Month and I fly this plane since 1 Month. Am I wrong? I hope you understand my Problem.

Thanks in advance.
Rich
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rich
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N40XE
Airports: S39 Prineville OR

Re: Autopilot NAV Mode Kap140

Post by Rich »

It follows the course on the HSI. You have to set the course on the HSI. Also, is the 430 in GPS mode?
2002 DA40-180: MT, PowerFlow, 530W/430W, KAP140, ext. baggage, 1090 ES out, 2646 MTOW, 40gal., Surefly, Flightstream 210, Orion 600 LED, XeVision, Aspen E5
timonick
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member

Post by timonick »

Rich wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 5:07 pm It follows the course on the HSI. You have to set the course on the HSI. Also, is the 430 in GPS mode?
Yes HDG works when i set the Course on Heading Indicator. What do you mean with 430 in Gps mode? I only Pressed Direct to Button, then i give him the ICAO Code from the Airport that the Track is markes on the "map" and then i press NAV on the Kap140. Did i need to activate Gps on the 430 Again? not sure he focus the VOR or something.
nathanda40
3 Diamonds Member