5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Rob
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: N831BA
Airports: KFFZ KEUL

XLS or NG?

Post by rwtucker »

I have a decent trade in offer to swap my 2008 XLS for a low time 2021 NG. I love my XLS but I have no knowledge of what I gain and lose (if anything).

Setting aside the dollars and age, why would I be happier the NG and what, if anything would I miss? I will not fly either enough to compensate financially for the fuel burn differences. I'm thinking not only about features but differences, if any, in maintenance difficulty and costs, especially for someone who does owner assisted annuals.

The NG seller and the XLS buyer are different people so there is no issues to wonder about there.
Rainair
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
First Name: Christof
Aircraft Type: DA42-VI
Aircraft Registration: TBA
Airports: LOxx

Re: XLS or NG?

Post by Rainair »

Personally I would go for the NG. But the difference (buying NG, selling XLS) should not be more than 150-200k I would say.
Not a helpful comment, just my thoughts.
Boatguy
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
First Name: Russ
Aircraft Type: DA62
Aircraft Registration: N962M
Airports: KSTS

Post by Boatguy »

That's a subject which has been debated at length by the advocates of each and for the most part is now avoided since that horse has been beaten too many times! You can search this forum and find all the advocates of the Austro engined DA40 versus the "bullet proof" IO-360 version.

My suggest is to read those threads, and then go fly the NG. I don't want to re-ignite the debate in this thread, though that may be inevitable. Fly the plane.

WRT 2021, that model year may be affected by MSB-E4-039 for which there are several long threads. Find out the s/n of the engine and check it against the MSB to see if the engine is affected, and then what category it is in.
Mjwatlanta
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
First Name: Michael
Aircraft Type: DA40NG