G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

A place for you to give us feedback on the site, what's working well, and what other features you'd like to see

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

Post Reply
User avatar
wolfvoador
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Wolfgang
Aircraft: DA42NG
Registration: N430PS
Airport: MYNN NASSAU BAHAMAS

Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:44 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 34 times

G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by wolfvoador » Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:50 am

Hello, since AvConnect ceased to work/exist (separate topic previously created) , and no other functional site found which links the MFD upper slot SD-card data into my logbook and maintenance records, I tried this site, Reports function, for getting my flight data out of the SD card. From the Reports page, I copy and paste the data then into my excel logbook. Works and sounds great as long as the Diamondaviators site captures all flights, but it unfortunately doesn't. For unknown reasons, every 4-5 flights, it seems to upload the flight, but then the flight does not appear on list. And any attempt to upload again yields the "duplicate" message. Anybody has experience with this, or can the creator of this module check its functionality? My flights are all public, and you can easily spot the "holes" in the records (of course, in my excel logbook, I can manually re-enter the flight, but it is cumbersome, and somehow defeats the whole purpose, I could do it faster writing from hand in the goodold black book).
User avatar
Chris
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Chris
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N984ES
Airport: KHIO

Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:34 am
Has thanked: 180 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by Chris » Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:23 pm

Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Wolfgang. I'll try to track down what is happening to the missing data.
Chris
N984ES / DA40-180XL / 40.827
KHIO
User avatar
Jean
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Jean
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N446DC
Airport: EBLG

Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:28 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by Jean » Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:24 pm

I upload my flights on cirrusreports.com
40.446, G1000, KAP 140, Hartzell Metal
User avatar
pietromarx
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: NZZZ
Airport: KWHP

Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:52 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by pietromarx » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:00 pm

I've noticed that Garmin's Fly / Pilot website and apps now accept engine log uploads. It is quite impressive, though no analytics are provided.
User avatar
Chris
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Chris
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N984ES
Airport: KHIO

Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:34 am
Has thanked: 180 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by Chris » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:09 pm

I believe this issue is now fixed. Wolfgang, let me know if you see your missing reports now.
Chris
N984ES / DA40-180XL / 40.827
KHIO
User avatar
wolfvoador
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Wolfgang
Aircraft: DA42NG
Registration: N430PS
Airport: MYNN NASSAU BAHAMAS

Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:44 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by wolfvoador » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:42 pm

Many thanks Chris, it worked, all my flights are back on!
User avatar
dgger
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA42NG
Registration: DGGER

Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:00 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by dgger » Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:42 am

It does seem to work indeed.

It would appear you deliberately stayed out of China. As I have plans to go myself, I am wondering, if you wanted to stay out or something kept you from going through.
User avatar
wolfvoador
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Wolfgang
Aircraft: DA42NG
Registration: N430PS
Airport: MYNN NASSAU BAHAMAS

Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:44 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by wolfvoador » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:17 pm

Hello. Yes, well observed. China is a very difficult country to fly into. Need visas, and diplomatic clearance (means, through the Chinese embassy) for the airplane. I also heard/read of 3-5000$ cost of one landing. Mongolia is easier, and not as expensive, but then, this would have been a detour. So we decided to fly the more northern route "around China", and were greeted by very nice and laid back Russian riverside cities like Chita, Blagoveshchensk and Khabarovsk, with nice hotels, good food, and amazing nature around.
User avatar
dgger
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Peter
Aircraft: DA42NG
Registration: DGGER

Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:00 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: G1000 Datalog Upload via this site

Post by dgger » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:19 am

That is too bad about China, but not the first time I hear this. I was hoping to get my next annual done there thinking with Diamond now being Chinese it might become an option. I will see...

Anyhow, sounds like you are on a great trip. Enjoy the ride!
Post Reply