ADSB upgrade issues....

Any DA40 related topics

Moderators: Rick, Lance Murray

User avatar
CBeak
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mike
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N614DS
Airport: KSGU

Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:39 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by CBeak »

I have the non WAAS G1000 as well. From what I’ve read and looked up, I will not see ADSB traffic on the traffic page of my legacy G1000. However, the GTX345R is Bluetooth ready, so I am able to see traffic on ForeFlight so long as I pair my iPad. The GTX345R is supposed to be able to pair simultaneously with two Apple devices, so it’s also on my wife’s iPad.
CBeak
N614DS 05 DA40
Legacy G1000 ; KAP 140
User avatar
Roxi5m9
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Nick
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N597RA
Airport: 5M9

Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:13 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by Roxi5m9 »

CBeak wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:22 am
I have the non WAAS G1000 as well. From what I’ve read and looked up, I will not see ADSB traffic on the traffic page of my legacy G1000. However, the GTX345R is Bluetooth ready, so I am able to see traffic on ForeFlight so long as I pair my iPad. The GTX345R is supposed to be able to pair simultaneously with two Apple devices, so it’s also on my wife’s iPad.
You WILL see traffic on your MFD map and traffic pages, and on the inset of the PFD, and its awesome! (ie you can see traffic and xm wx or terrain together on the main map page) You will NOT get the ADSB weather radar to display on the MFD. The traffic and the weather will Bluetooth to your iPads.

I think the extra 1000 for the 345 is worth it. And I believe you get a much better representation of the traffic out there with the 345 vs an external device like the scout
N597RA 40.444
‘04 DA40-180
ATP, CFI
5M9, Marion, KY
User avatar
CBeak
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mike
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N614DS
Airport: KSGU

Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:39 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by CBeak »

Roxi5m9 wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 8:16 am
CBeak wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:22 am
I have the non WAAS G1000 as well. From what I’ve read and looked up, I will not see ADSB traffic on the traffic page of my legacy G1000. However, the GTX345R is Bluetooth ready, so I am able to see traffic on ForeFlight so long as I pair my iPad. The GTX345R is supposed to be able to pair simultaneously with two Apple devices, so it’s also on my wife’s iPad.
You WILL see traffic on your MFD map and traffic pages, and on the inset of the PFD, and its awesome! (ie you can see traffic and xm wx or terrain together on the main map page) You will NOT get the ADSB weather radar to display on the MFD. The traffic and the weather will Bluetooth to your iPads.

I think the extra 1000 for the 345 is worth it. And I believe you get a much better representation of the traffic out there with the 345 vs an external device like the scout
I was under the impression that you need WAAS on the G1000 in order to see traffic
CBeak
N614DS 05 DA40
Legacy G1000 ; KAP 140
User avatar
mhoran
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Matt
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N269RB
Airport: KLDJ

Posts: 26
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:56 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by mhoran »

CBeak wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:30 pm
I was under the impression that you need WAAS on the G1000 in order to see traffic
You need the later software version (that comes with the WAAS upgrade) to get ADS-B weather. Traffic works with all models. I have a non WAAS G1000 and get traffic just fine. We also have the TAS box and targets from both are merged and displayed.
User avatar
CBeak
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mike
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N614DS
Airport: KSGU

Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:39 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by CBeak »

mhoran wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:23 pm
CBeak wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:30 pm
I was under the impression that you need WAAS on the G1000 in order to see traffic
You need the later software version (that comes with the WAAS upgrade) to get ADS-B weather. Traffic works with all models. I have a non WAAS G1000 and get traffic just fine. We also have the TAS box and targets from both are merged and displayed.
Software version? Isn't one of our big issues on another thread the inability to get software updates on the legacy G1000? What am I missing?
CBeak
N614DS 05 DA40
Legacy G1000 ; KAP 140
User avatar
Chris
5 Diamonds Member
5 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Chris
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N123MZ
Airport: KHIO

Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:34 am
Has thanked: 262 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by Chris »

CBeak wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:43 am
Software version? Isn't one of our big issues on another thread the inability to get software updates on the legacy G1000? What am I missing?
My understanding is:
  • Version 321.22 is available for non-WAAS DA40-180s and can display ADS-B traffic.
  • Version 321.23 is only available for WAAS DA40-180s and can display ADS-B traffic plus some ADS-B weather.
  • Displaying more advanced ADS-B weather data is not possible without another software upgrade, which may never materialize.
Chris
N123MZ / DA40-180XLS / 40.1070
KHIO
User avatar
CBeak
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mike
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N614DS
Airport: KSGU

Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:39 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by CBeak »

Guess I need to spend some time powered up with the GPU and digging into the G1000 settings page.
CBeak
N614DS 05 DA40
Legacy G1000 ; KAP 140
User avatar
MarkA
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mark
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N123MZ
Airport: KHIO

Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:58 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by MarkA »

JohnLand wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:46 pm
I think the original xm antenna is mounted on a metal shelf above the TAS600 box, the pictured antenna looks like the ELT antenna. the XM antenna looks similar to the GPS Antenna on top of the plane.
MarkA wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:35 pm
Unfortunately I wasn't there when the GA-37 SiriusXM combo antenna was installed so I'm not sure exactly where they put it and didn't get any pictures after the installation done. However, I did take a few pictures of the tail tube, the original XM antenna and the new wire harness before the installation was finished. They are attached below.

For the Bluetooth extender, I used the same mounting and wiring routing approach that BkFlyer described in the thread titled "Inexpensive DIY solution to GTX345R Bluetooth problem - with pics". I zip tied the extension cable to the G1000 card cage so it would not move around and attached the small pick-up antenna right above the small Bluetooth hole on the GTX-345R with Velcro.
Yep, you're correct. The arrow on the annotated photo is actually pointing at the ELT antenna. The GPS/XM combo antenna looks just like the GPS antennas on top of the plane.
User avatar
Roxi5m9
3 Diamonds Member
3 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Nick
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N597RA
Airport: 5M9

Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:13 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by Roxi5m9 »

CBeak wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:43 am
mhoran wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:23 pm
CBeak wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:30 pm
I was under the impression that you need WAAS on the G1000 in order to see traffic
You need the later software version (that comes with the WAAS upgrade) to get ADS-B weather. Traffic works with all models. I have a non WAAS G1000 and get traffic just fine. We also have the TAS box and targets from both are merged and displayed.
Software version? Isn't one of our big issues on another thread the inability to get software updates on the legacy G1000? What am I missing?

When you take your diamond to the avionics shop, they will tell you what you all need. No, your plane isn’t waas, but the 345 you put in it will have waas built into it, just for the unit itself. That’s part of what makes it cost 6K. And installing the unit requires them to wipe your firmware and reinstall it. When they do that, they will make sure they reinstall the latest software, and your plane will display traffic.
N597RA 40.444
‘04 DA40-180
ATP, CFI
5M9, Marion, KY
User avatar
CBeak
2 Diamonds Member
2 Diamonds Member
FIRST NAME: Mike
Aircraft: DA40
Registration: N614DS
Airport: KSGU

Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:39 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: ADSB upgrade issues....

Post by CBeak »

Roxi5m9 wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:10 am
CBeak wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:43 am
mhoran wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:23 pm


You need the later software version (that comes with the WAAS upgrade) to get ADS-B weather. Traffic works with all models. I have a non WAAS G1000 and get traffic just fine. We also have the TAS box and targets from both are merged and displayed.
Software version? Isn't one of our big issues on another thread the inability to get software updates on the legacy G1000? What am I missing?

When you take your diamond to the avionics shop, they will tell you what you all need. No, your plane isn’t waas, but the 345 you put in it will have waas built into it, just for the unit itself. That’s part of what makes it cost 6K. And installing the unit requires them to wipe your firmware and reinstall it. When they do that, they will make sure they reinstall the latest software, and your plane will display traffic.
It was installed a while back. They wiped and reinstalled everything. I do not get traffic on the G1000 but do get it on ForeFlight. Still looking into it, but this is the first time anybody has said the traffic will show up on the non was G1000.
CBeak
N614DS 05 DA40
Legacy G1000 ; KAP 140
Post Reply