1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member
First Name: Pat
Aircraft Type: DA40
Aircraft Registration: 40.725
Airports: KHSV

Cylinder Head Temps

Post by pabrouss »

I'm a relatively new pilot and DA40 owner and this is my first post to this forum.

I've noticed recently that my #1 cyliner head temp is difficult to keep below 390 at low altitudes. I have to richen the mixture to 11 or 12 gph to bring the temp below 380. The other 3 cylinder head temps are all 375 or below at 10 gph. I usually fly at 10 gph to get max true airspeed of 145. I've had a mechanic look at it and the timing was adjusted from 25 tap dead center to 23. This has done nothing to alleviate the issue.

Any ideas? ALL are welcome.
Gnomad
4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
First Name: Eric
Aircraft Type: DA42-VI
Aircraft Registration: N61EP
Airports: KEQY

Re: Cylinder Head Temps

Post by Gnomad »

Welcome to the forum!

Not an expert by any means, others might have more opinions, but my first thought is that your #1 sensor is off. I have been seeing something similar for the entire time I've owned my 40. #2 ALWAYS reads about 15 degrees cooler than the others. Also, my oil temp ALWAYS reads a bit cooler than what would be expected.

Or maybe it's something mechanical, but I'd suspect the sensor first.
Eric

DA42.N121 (Sold!)
DA40.1136 (Sold!)
Charlotte, NC (KEQY)

My Diamond Flight Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/eparker99a
pabrouss
1 Diamond Member
1 Diamond Member

Post by pabrouss »

Gnomad wrote:Welcome to the forum!

Not an expert by any means, others might have more opinions, but my first thought is that your #1 sensor is off. I have been seeing something similar for the entire time I've owned my 40. #2 ALWAYS reads about 15 degrees cooler than the others. Also, my oil temp ALWAYS reads a bit cooler than what would be expected.

Or maybe it's something mechanical, but I'd suspect the sensor first.