4 Diamonds Member
4 Diamonds Member
First Name: Joel
Aircraft Type: DA62
Aircraft Registration: N251JM
Airports: KIWS

Into my first annual with my 62….impressions

Post by MackAttack »

Just dropped off my 62 at Premier (KFTW) for its first annual. I took delivery Feb 2023, but the aircraft got its A/W certificate on 12/30/22, so I needed the annual done by 12/31. About 155-160 hours TT on the meter. I did initial training for a bit then was preparing for and in a big trial through May, then retired from practicing law on June 1. As a result, most of my 2023 flying (other than the training and a few short flights) has been since 6/1, and I’ve been a busy pilot since then.

Overall impression - love the plane. Love flying it, love landing it, and am enjoying flying down low again (had been flying a Piper M600 in the flight levels for several years, which we just sold last week - loved that plane too!). Definitely prefer the G3000 to the G1000, but that’s really a quibble as the functionality is similar (waiting on Phase 3 and visual approaches like everyone else). Have been without a radar since delivery but getting a GWX75 installed during the annual and will get the GWX8000 upgrade once Phase 3 is out (prepaid for both). I didn’t mind flying without them but would prefer not to go through another spring/summer storm season in Texas and the southeast relying solely on ADSB and XM radar …